Samoa Bars

Click here for printable Samoa Bars recipe

Let me start out by saying the pictures don’t do these bars justice. My mom brought me a box of my favorite girl scout cookies, Samoas of course, and I got to thinking after I soon finished the entire box, I bet I could make something like this! So I quickly found a bar recipe which I can honestly admit didn’t turn out as pretty as I wanted (hence the pictures) but they were very yummy nonetheless! I opted to not drizzle chocolate over the top of the bars and it really brought out the taste of the coconut-caramel topping that I love so much about the girl scout Samoas.

I found the recipe from another blog (http://bakingbites.com/2009/02/homemade-girl-scout-cookies-samoas-bars/), and I want to try the homemade thin mint recipe sometime soon as well.

The recipe was fun to make; I taste tested the crust and topping each by themselves, and they were delicious. A note to those trying the recipe: it really is important to allow the topping to set. I was very impatient and put the pan in the freezer to hurry up the cooling process so I could cut the bars, and it made it difficult when I dipped the bottoms in the chocolate because not all of the topping had set into the crust and some of them crumbled in the melted chocolate, oops! I definitely recommend this recipe to all of those Samoa lovers out there though, because we all know Girl Scout cookie season doesn’t last all year!

About Mary Kate

Hey Ya'll! My name is Mary Kate DuBard, I was born and raised in South Carolina, and I have wonderful parents and two older brothers. I'm currently living in Atlanta and attending Georgia Tech; I'm a junior majoring in Industrial Engineering and minoring in Spanish. I'm on the track and field and cross country teams here as well. I love everything outdoors, traveling, being with friends, laughing, anything sweet, and BAKING. My favorite part of any meal has always been dessert, and I grew up with my grandmother's perfect pecan pie and banana pudding. Since high school, I have loved to bake and throughout college, I have especially branched out, baking several times a week and enjoying the adventures of trying new recipes. My hope is to eventually run my own bakery someday! I decided to start a little blog to document my baking endeavors and allow my friends and family to keep up with my sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Bars. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Samoa Bars

  1. KK says:

    These look so delicious! Will make some soon.

Leave a Reply

