For the love of cookie cake

Click here for printable Cookie Cake recipe

This past week I got a little crazy and made three cookie cakes, and simply varied the icing and size of each cake. I used the same recipe for all 3; I’ve only used one other cookie cake recipe from a magazine that makes a smaller size, but this particular recipe has turned out great for me every time. The recipe can be found here: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/giant-chocolate-chip-cookie/Detail.aspx. The only thing I do differently is I always use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and I’ve never added walnuts to the cake.

For the circular cookie cake above, I split the dough in half and put each into two 9 inch pans. Also, for the circular cake I simply used a canned chocolate frosting and sprinkles to add around the edge for a quick birthday treat for someone! For the next few pictures, I made one giant cake on a 13 X 18 cookie sheet, then cut into squares and used three different icings.

The first is buttercream, the second is vanilla, and the last is chocolate. I can’t decide my favorite, I really liked all 3 of them! I found the simple icing recipes from cooks.com; I halved all three recipes so I wouldn’t end up with too much extra, but had to add more powdered sugar to each to get it to a good consistency. And as you can see, I made the buttercream first and it was the most ‘runny’ (I probably should have added a bit more powdered sugar), but I refrigerated the cookie cake squares to let the icing harden a bit, and it sure was tasty!

Click here for printable Buttercream frosting

Click here for printable Vanilla frosting

Click here for printable Chocolate frosting

And lastly, my third cake went to my favorite, and also the best fraternity at Tech, Beta Theta Pi :). I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 and split into two smaller cookie sheets, then frosted it using the buttercream frosting from the yo-yo cookies recipe, and used a little red food coloring to make the heart.

For the love of cookie cake, go to the store, grab a buggy, get what ya need, and bake a cake!

About Mary Kate

Hey Ya'll! My name is Mary Kate DuBard, I was born and raised in South Carolina, and I have wonderful parents and two older brothers. I'm currently living in Atlanta and attending Georgia Tech; I'm a junior majoring in Industrial Engineering and minoring in Spanish. I'm on the track and field and cross country teams here as well. I love everything outdoors, traveling, being with friends, laughing, anything sweet, and BAKING. My favorite part of any meal has always been dessert, and I grew up with my grandmother's perfect pecan pie and banana pudding. Since high school, I have loved to bake and throughout college, I have especially branched out, baking several times a week and enjoying the adventures of trying new recipes. My hope is to eventually run my own bakery someday! I decided to start a little blog to document my baking endeavors and allow my friends and family to keep up with my sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For the love of cookie cake

  1. Hannah Smith says:

    Looks like your doing a good and tasty job with your Sweetheart duties!!

  2. KK says:

    Hope you have some left! I’ll have one of each when I visit.

Leave a Reply

